Hear Me

Inside my heart, a songbird trills
And serenades my every hour
Threading softly through my dreams
Now a pleading clamour
Now a gentle hum
Beneath my breast.

The melody is beautiful
But the song knifes from within
Seeking flight
A passage to the outside
For a song unheard is a prisoner
Shackled to its voice.

And then comes another
Bending close to hear
Head held to my breast
Releasing bird and song to swell and soar
Harmonies multiplying
Finding resonance in the other.

And when we part
Resume our ways
The songbird flutters down to earth;
Its wings I fold along its sides
To place it back within my heart.

Inside my heart a songbird mourns
And haunts my every hour.

4 responses to this post.

  1. This is so marvelously beautiful.

    Reply

  2. Thank you for reading 🙂

    Reply

  3. If I felt envy of any one or any thing on this earth, it would be a poet, and songs of the mind and heart. You are blessed.

    Reply

  4. I think if I didn’t write I’d begin to corrode inside!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

